Minister responsible for Energy, Hon. Guy Joron Minister of Consumer Affairs, Co-operatives and Financial Institutions, Hon. Lise Payette Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Jean Garon Minister of Social Affairs, Hon. Denis Lazure Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Guy Tardif Minister of Labour and Manpower, Hon.

Pierre-Marc Johnson

Minister of Immigration, Hon, Jacques Couture

Minister of Cultural Affairs and Minister of Communications, Hon. Louis O'Neill

Minister of Natural Resources and Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Yves Berube

Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. Rodrigue Tremblay

Minister of Tourism, Fish and Game, Hon. Yves Duhaime

Public Service Minister and Vice-President of the Treasury Board, Hon. Denis De Belleval Minister of Public Works and Supply, Hon.

Jocelyne Ouellette.

Ontario 3.3.1.6

The government of Ontario consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a Legislative Assembly. In April 1974 the Honourable Pauline McGibbon took office as lieutenant-governor. The Legislative Assembly is composed of 125 members elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. At the provincial election June 9, 1977, 58 Progressive Conservatives, 34 Liberals and 33 New Democrats were elected to the province's 31st Legislature.

In addition to the regular ministries are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commis-

sion, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1970, c.240 as amended) each member of the assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$15,000 and an expense allowance of \$7,500. In addition, the speaker receives a special annual indemnity of \$9,000, the chairman of the committee of the whole house \$5,000 and the leader of the opposition a salary of \$18,000. Each member of the cabinet having charge of a ministry receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the legislature in addition to his salary as a minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the premier is \$25,000 and for a cabinet minister having charge of a ministry \$18,000. The leader of the opposition receives a representation allowance of \$3,000 per annum. Each minister without portfolio receives an annual salary of \$7,500.

The Executive Council of Ontario in November 1977

Premier and President of the Council, Hon. William G. Davis

Minister of Culture and Recreation and Deputy Premier, Hon. Robert Welch

Chairman of Management Board of Cabinet,

Hon. James A.C. Auld

Provincial Secretary for Resources Development, Hon. René Brunelle Minister of Education, Hon. Thomas L. Wells

Minister of the Environment, Hon. George A. Kerr

Minister of Northern Affairs, Hon. Leo Bernier Minister of Transportation and

Communications, Hon. James W. Snow Provincial Secretary for Social Development, Hon. Margaret Birch

Minister of Industry and Tourism, Hon. Claude Bennett

Treasurer of Ontario, Minister of Economics and Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. W. Darcy McKeough

Minister of Agriculture and Food, Hon. William Newman

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Frank S.

Minister of Housing, Hon. John R. Rhodes Minister of Health, Hon. Dennis R. Timbrell Provincial Secretary for Justice and Solicitor General, Hon. John P. MacBeth

Minister of Revenue, Hon. Margaret Scrivener Minister of Colleges and Universities, Hon.

Harry C. Parrott

Minister of Energy, Hon. James A. Taylor Minister of Labour, Hon. Bette M. Stephenson Attorney General, Hon. Roy McMurtry Minister without portfolio and Chairman of Cabinet, Hon. Lorne C. Henderson

Minister of Community and Social Services, Hon. Keith C. Norton

Minister of Correctional Services, Hon. Frank

Drea Minister of Consumer and Commercial

Relations, Hon. Larry Grossman Minister of Government Services, Hon. George McCague.